Planning a vacation this summer? Learn more about the driving laws in Michigan.
- Michigan law requires that all passengers between the ages of 8 and 15 wear seat belts. The law also instructs all drivers and passengers in front seats to buckle up. Additionally, Michigan’s safety law regarding child passengers establishes that children younger than 4 must sit in a car seat in the back of the vehicle if the vehicle possesses a rear seat. If all available rear seats are occupied by children under 4, then a child under 4 may ride in a car seat in the front seat. A child in a rear-facing car seat may only ride in the front seat if the air bag is turned off. Read more: Child Passenger Safety Fact Sheet
- If the driver or a passenger is not wearing a seat belt, state law allows police officers to pull the vehicle over just for that reason.
- Michigan law also addresses the issue of leaving children unattended in a vehicle: no child younger than six can be left in a vehicle unattended.
- Michigan does not have a statewide ban on cell phone usage while driving, but does ban cellphone use by new drivers. It is illegal for drivers who hold a Level 1 or Level 2 probationary license to use a cellphone while driving (initiate or answer a call).
- The state does ban texting. This applies to all drivers.
- It is not illegal to ride without a helmet while driving a motorcycle, but you must: be at least 21 years old, have passed a motorcycle course within the last two years and carry at least an additional $20,000 in medical insurance.
So buckle up and no texting. Keep your family safe!